SBG and cheating

I have another SBG question. At my school, in general if a student is cheating on an assessment, the student receives a zero as well as a disciplinary referral. How does that work with SBG?

Do you refuse to allow that student to reassess the LTs addressed on that quiz/test? That seems inconsistent with the goals of SBG.

I expect that the knowledge that they can reassess will probably reduce the temptation to cheat, because the student knows that if he doesn’t get it he can try again later. So it may be that it’s never an issue.

However, thinking about that brings me to a related question – students who are suspended are supposed to receive zeros on any work from the day(s) of the suspension. Again, it’s hard to know how to follow this policy and still use SBG. Suspensions are not something that happen frequently at my school, but they do happen. (Edit: Same goes for cheating incidents.)

Thoughts on these issues?

(By the way, I am loving reading everyone’s discussions over on Twitter, where I am @praxisofreflect. I am just a little hesitant to jump in myself. Blogging is already pushing me outside my comfort zone, so I’m working on it!)

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • MizT  On June 30, 2010 at 12:01 pm

    Since I’ve not done SBG yet, I look forward to hearing what the gurus say on this. However, I would anticipate the cheating being a non-issue overall. The suspension issue seems like it would go against the goal of SBG, so many talk to your principal? Good questions though!

  • David Cox  On June 30, 2010 at 12:34 pm

    It comes down to learning. What would be the rationale for not allowing a reassessment? The issue of cheating definitely needs to be addressed, but should it be reflected in the grade?

    • Amanda  On June 30, 2010 at 4:43 pm

      I think the rationale for the policy is based on a non-standards-based approach to grading: If you cheat, you didn’t know the material, so you get a zero. The punishment is based on the idea that you don’t get another chance at that assessment. In a standards-based grading scheme, though, that doesn’t make any sense, because of the dynamic nature of grades.

      So I guess the question is just whether there should be a penalty to the student’s grade as a consequence for cheating. The student would receive a disciplinary referral, most likely resulting in a detention, but in any other class in the school, he would ALSO receive the grade consequence. I tend to agree that inflicting a grade consequence goes against the goals of SBG, but I’m working on how to present that to my administrators. I think the “double jeopardy” idea is a reasonable way to do that; we’re already giving the kid one consequence (referral) for his actions.

Leave a Reply

