SBG and different course levels

I’m getting more and more excited about implementing SBG in my math classes in the fall. I’m finding ideas from others; I’m considering how I would deal with issues they raise when they arise in my own setting. I’m working on how best to communicate the idea to students and their parents.

And then I thought of an issue I hadn’t considered before. Because my school is small, we have different course levels in the same class. Overall, the understanding is that the different levels will indicate different volumes of work, and that the students in Honors & AP courses will be asked to do correspondingly more critical thinking work than those in General courses.

I can reasonably expect that my two sections of Geometry will each include a mix of Honors and General students. My Statistics class will probably have both AP and General. Calculus *could* have AP and General, but knowing the kids that will be in that class, I don’t expect any General students. The other class I’ll have is Trigonometry & Analytic Geometry, which only has one course code, so it’s all General.

So…what does that mean for using SBG? Should I just eliminate certain learning targets from the General students’ grades? That’s the first solution that’s coming to my mind, but I don’t know if there are other ideas that may be better. What would (or do) you do to differentiate between two course levels within the same class using SBG?

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • physicscarp  On June 28, 2010 at 2:21 pm

    Hi Amanda,

    Do you meet with the Honors/AP and General students the same amount of time? I know that we have an Environmental Science course that runs this way, but the AP students meet more often. I’d imagine that would make it easy to not include certain standards for the students in your general section.

    • Amanda  On June 28, 2010 at 2:27 pm

      Yep, it’s the same amount of time, all together. It’s a challenge.

Leave a Reply

