Going back in time?

I’m taking a class that started today. I’ve never taken statistics before, but I’ll be teaching it (one section that will probably have both AP and General kids) in the fall. So I thought that taking it would probably be a good plan.

I’m still processing the reasons why, but it felt somewhat surreal to be in a 2000-level course again. I’m looking forward to learning statistics, definitely; I have thought for a while that I would like to take a course like this. But actually sitting in the class just feels strange. It’s very different than the classes I’ve been in over the last 3 years as a master’s student, and it actually feels much more like I’m back in high school (except the part where the homework is all online).

I’ll have to continue mulling this over. It feels like there are things I can learn through this about becoming a better teacher, but I’m not completely sure what those things are yet. Maybe it will become clearer to me as the next few weeks go by.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • MizT  On June 23, 2010 at 10:07 pm

    Do you use twitter? Many of the people on your blogroll are on twitter on a regular basis and are a valuable resource for teaching. And you will enjoy teaching stat – it’s my favorite :)

    • Amanda  On June 23, 2010 at 10:12 pm

      I found your blog looking for stat teachers! :)

      I don’t currently use twitter, but I might just have to sign up for an account so I can follow everyone. It does seem like there’s a lot going on over there.

  • MizT  On June 23, 2010 at 10:56 pm

    I’ve taught AP for years, so anything you need help on, feel free to ask :) I will eventually get back to posting stat stuff, but if you look back at the beginning posts, there’s some things that you might find useful :) You should definitely sign up for twitter though, it’s an amazing resource!

Leave a Reply

